Circular issued by the secretary to Cabinet, George Simataa. PHOTO: Contributed

Regional constituency councilors will no longer be allowed to issue travel permits to Namibians wishing to travel between lockdown zones introduced as measures to curb the further spread of the deadly COVID-19 virus.

This was contained in a circular letter signed by George Simataa, the secretary to Cabinet and chairperson of the National Disaster Risk Management Committee recently.

Simataa explained that the new measures are part of the amended State of Emergency COVID-19 Regulations as introduced by President Hage Geingob on 17 April 2020 which further divided the country into different zones.

Namibia has reported 16 cases which tested positive of the COVID-19 virus of which six patients recovered and 127 are currently in quarantine, while no deaths have been recorded.  

“In view of ensuring effective implementation of these amendments, the Namibian Police (NAMPOL) has put in place a country wide lockdown… Therefore, authorized officers for the issuance of travel permits have now been reduced,” the letter reads in part.

“As from Monday 20 April 2020, regional constituency councilors will no longer issue travel permits during the State of Emergency,” the communication reads in part.  

However, Simataa indicated that the task will only be limited to NAMPOL regional commanders and previously authorized station commanders, regional health as well as education directors.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here